This is a starting point, not legal advice. Limits can change with your zoning district, your lot and your street, and cities update their rules. Confirm with your city before you build, and check your homeowners association too.
| City | Front yard | Side and back yards | Permit needed | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arlington, TX | 4 ft, ornamental metal at least 75% see-through. No wood pickets or solid fences. | 8 ft. On the side line of a corner lot, 2 ft unless set back. | Required when more than half of a fence line is replaced. | Residential fences bulletin (June 2018)Checked November 4, 2026 |
| Austin, TX | No separate front-yard number on the city's page. Corner lots need a sight-line approval. | 6 ft for a solid fence on a property line, 7 ft where the ground changes by a foot, up to 8 ft in some cases. Open fences (20% solid or less) have no height limit. | Over 7 ft, in a floodplain, or over 6 ft along a public street. | Fencing regulationsChecked November 2, 2026 |
| Bellevue, WA | 4 ft 6 in, in the required front setback. | 8 ft. | Over 8 ft. | FencesChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Boise, ID | 3 ft solid, 4 ft open-vision. | 6 ft. | Over 7 ft, or a non-wood fence in a historic district. | Who do I call at City Hall (2025) Residential construction brochure (2023)Checked November 2, 2026 |
| Boulder, CO | Not stated on the city's permit guide. | 7 ft within 3 ft of a property line. | Over 7 ft, or in a floodplain, wetland or historic district. | Fence and retaining wall permit guideChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Cary, NC | No separate limit, but over 42 in within 30 ft of a thoroughfare or collector street needs a permit and shrubs. | 8 ft, up to the property line. | Usually none. Needed over 42 in within 30 ft of a thoroughfare or collector street. | Fence rulesChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Centennial, CO | 4 ft. | 8 ft. | Any new fence, or a replacement that changes the height, location or material. | Apply for a fence permitChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Chandler, AZ | 3 ft. | 7 ft. | Every fence needs zoning clearance. Over 7 ft also needs planning approval and a permit. | Homeowner's building permit manualChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Chicago, IL | 54 in if more than 20% solid, in the required front setback. | 6 ft. | Over 5 ft, measured on both sides. | Fence permit terms When a fence needs no permitChecked November 2, 2026 |
| Coalville, UT | 4 ft, set 1 ft back along a sidewalk or street. | 6 ft. | Over 6 ft, a conditional use permit. | City code, as published by ZoneomicsChecked October 25, 2026 |
| Colorado Springs, CO | 4 ft forward of the house's front wall. | No maximum stated. Over 7 ft counts as an accessory structure. | Over 7 ft. | FencesChecked November 2, 2026 |
| Columbus, OH | No single height. Above 2½ ft it can be at most 25% opaque in a yard with driveway access. Call zoning first. | 6 ft with no setback. Taller fences must meet setbacks. | Over 6 ft. | Fences handout (April 2026)Checked November 2, 2026 |
| Dallas, TX | 4 ft before a permit is needed. | 6 ft before a permit is needed. 9 ft is the maximum. | Over 4 ft in front, over 6 ft elsewhere. Over 9 ft needs the Board of Adjustment and an engineer. | Fence permit checklist (June 2026)Checked November 2, 2026 |
| Detroit, MI | 4 ft if see-through, 3 ft if solid. | 6 ft. | Not stated in the ordinance. Ask the city. | Chapter 50 fencing amendment, Sec. 50-14-344 (2026)Checked November 2, 2026 |
| Fort Worth, TX | 4 ft, open picket style. No chain link. | Not stated on the city's page. | Solid over 7 ft, open over 8 ft. | Residential permittingChecked November 2, 2026 |
| Frisco, TX | 4 ft in front of the house. | 8 ft. | Any new fence. Repairs of up to two sections or 16 ft are exempt. | Residential fence FAQChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Jacksonville, FL | 4 ft in the front setback. | 8 ft. | Not stated in the city's zoning FAQ. | Zoning FAQsChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Kalamazoo, MI | 4 ft, at most 75% solid. No chain link. | 7 ft. | Over 7 ft. | Residential fencing standardsChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Kansas City, MO | 4 ft, and on the street side of a corner lot. | 6 ft. | No building permit. | Code questionsChecked November 2, 2026 |
| Las Vegas, NV | 3 ft, and on the street side. | 8 ft. | Over 2 ft. | Common code violationsChecked November 2, 2026 |
| Littleton, CO | 48 in, at least 50% open, or 75% on a corner lot. | 6 ft. Taller needs a variance. | Every fence needs a building permit. | Fence requirementsChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Long Beach, CA | 3 ft. | 6 ft 6 in. | Over 6 ft 6 in, or masonry over 4 ft. Planning approves every fence. | Fences and walls Residential fence bulletin BU-041 (2018)Checked November 4, 2026 |
| Louisville, KY | 4 ft in suburban districts, 42 in in traditional ones. | 6 ft, or 8 ft if solid and at least 80% opaque. | Over 7 ft. | Fencing violations Fence and retaining wallsChecked November 2, 2026 |
| Madison, WI | 4 ft. Ornamental fences 5 ft if under 50% opaque, 6 ft if under 20%. | 6 ft, or 8 ft beside a commercial district. | No building permit. | Fence or hedgeChecked November 2, 2026 |
| Menlo Park, CA | 4 ft in the front setback, 3 ft at a street corner. | 7 ft. | Wood over 7 ft. | Fences and walls in residential areasChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Minneapolis, MN | 4 ft, and no more than 60% solid. | 6 ft in most side and rear yards. Nothing over 8 ft anywhere. | Over 7 ft, or any pool fence. | Fence requirements (Aug. 2025) Fences and other site features (June 2025)Checked November 2, 2026 |
| Nashville, TN | A solid fence over 30 in must sit 10 ft back from the right of way. Open fences can reach 6 ft there, and any fence 6 ft elsewhere in the front yard. | 8 ft. | Generally none. | I want to build a fence Building a fence in Davidson CountyChecked November 2, 2026 |
| Oakland, CA | Over 3½ ft needs zoning approval and must be at least 60% see-through. 6 ft at most. | Not stated on the city's permit page. | Wood or metal over 7 ft needs a building permit. | Fence, gate and freestanding wall permitsChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Orlando, FL | 4 ft. | 6 ft, or 8 ft beside a commercial or industrial property. | Over 6 ft, masonry, powered gates, historic districts or floodplains. | Fence guideChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Peachtree Corners, GA | 4 ft. | 8 ft. | Only if it needs footings, as brick or stone walls usually do. | Residential fence guidelinesChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Philadelphia, PA | 4 ft and at most 50% opaque, between the street and the building. | 6 ft. | Over 6 ft. Masonry over 2 ft. | Residential fences FAQ (2021)Checked November 2, 2026 |
| Phoenix, AZ | 40 in. Up to 54 in beside an arterial street in certain cases. | 6 ft, or 8 ft beside an arterial street. | Over 3 ft. | Residential fences (2013) Required permits for fences (2013)Checked November 2, 2026 |
| Portland, OR | 3½ ft in many zones. | 8 ft. | Wood over 7 ft, masonry over 4 ft, chain link or woven wire over 8 ft, any pool fence. | Fences, decks and outdoor projects Fence permitsChecked November 2, 2026 |
| Raleigh, NC | 6½ ft, but above 4 ft it can be at most 50% opaque. No chain link. | 8 ft, or 6½ ft beside a street. | A zoning permit for any new fence, or for replacing 50% or more. | Development code, Sec. 7.2.8 FencesChecked November 2, 2026 |
| Reno, NV | 4 ft. | 6 ft on the lot lines. | Not stated in the fence standards. The city publishes residential fence permit guidelines. | General standards for fences and walls (June 2026)Checked November 4, 2026 |
| Round Rock, TX | 3 ft in the street yard, or 6 ft for wrought iron. | Not stated on the city's pages. | No building permit. | Code enforcement Homeowner projectsChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Sacramento, CA | 4 ft in the front setback. | Not stated in the city's summaries. See City Code 17.620. | Building permit over 7 ft. All fences must meet planning rules. | Required building permits Most common code violations (2022)Checked November 2, 2026 |
| Salem, VA | 3½ ft. | 8 ft. | No permit. | Fence height limitsChecked October 25, 2026 |
| Salt Lake City, UT | 4 ft. | 6 ft. | Any new fence. | Planning FAQ Good Neighbor Guide (2023)Checked November 2, 2026 |
| San Antonio, TX | 3 ft solid, 5 ft if combined or mostly open. | 6 ft, or 8 ft in some cases. | Any new fence, or repairing more than 25%. | Residential fence application (Oct. 2025) Fences FAQChecked November 2, 2026 |
| San Diego, CA | 3 ft solid at the property line, rising to 6 ft at the setback. Open fences 6 ft, chain link 3 ft at the line. | 9 ft, but anything above 6 ft must be open. | 7 ft or more. | Municipal Code, fence regulations (Sept. 2026)Checked November 2, 2026 |
| San Francisco, CA | 3 ft solid, 6 ft if 75% open. | 10 ft. | Over 3 ft in front, over 6 ft at the side or rear. | Fences: general informationChecked November 2, 2026 |
| San Jose, CA | 3 ft, and on the street side. | 7 ft where not along a street. | Only above these limits, and then both a building and a planning permit. | Fences and retaining wallsChecked November 2, 2026 |
| San Mateo, CA | 3 ft. | 6 ft, or 8 ft if the neighbor agrees and the top 2 ft is at least 50% open. | Over 7 ft. | FencesChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Seattle, WA | 4 ft in a front or street-side setback. | 6 ft, plus 2 ft of arbor or trellis. | Over 8 ft, masonry over 6 ft, or in a flood-prone area. | FencesChecked November 2, 2026 |
| Sioux Falls, SD | 4 ft. | 6 ft. | Any new, moved, replaced or repaired fence. | FencesChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Tempe, AZ | 4 ft, or up to 6 ft with a use permit. | 8 ft. | Over 6 ft. Every fence is subject to city review. | General fence and wall height standardsChecked November 4, 2026 |
| Tulsa, OK | 4 ft before a special exception. | 8 ft before a special exception. | Zoning clearance up to 7 ft, building permit above that. | Top code violations Residential guidebook (Jan. 2025)Checked November 2, 2026 |
| Washington, DC | 7 ft along a street. | 7 ft within 10 ft of a property line, unless the neighbors agree in writing. | Not stated. The city publishes a fence permit checklist, and public space needs a DDOT permit. | Building code interpretation: fenceChecked November 2, 2026 |
| West Linn, OR | 3 ft. | 6 ft. | No permit. | Do I need a permit for a fence?Checked October 25, 2026 |